Home > Uncategorized > BLOG – BLACK HISTORY ASSIGNMENT

BLOG – BLACK HISTORY ASSIGNMENT

ASSIGNMENT: Make a blog post about the Kansas- Black History Month assignment. Tell me about the subjects you are considering and why they are interesting to you. Also, visit the blogs of three classmates in this course and make a good comment on their post about this assignment. A good comment consists of feedback, questions, and commentary that can help them think and improve while doing this assignment.

I was thinking we were supposed to have picked 3 from our list of 10 to tell about in more detail and pick one from those to do our project on but the written instructions here don’t say anything about that so, I guess I’ll just “wing it” and go with what I originally thought…

Of my 10, one of the 3 I might choose Langston Hughes, an African American writer and poet. He was born in Joplin, MO but grew up in Lawrence Kansas and is considered to be a Kansas. Some of his works are “The Big Sea,” an autobiography; “Not Without Laughter,” his first novel about an African boy he called “Sandy” growing up in small town Kansas; and “Selected Poems of Langston Hughes” which is a collection of poems from Hughes earlier works. There are a variety of materials on Langston Hughes online including numerous pictures of him and copies of his works so I don’t think it would be too terribly difficult to put together a poster featuring him as a figure representing Black History in Kansas.

Samuel Lyle Adair and family might be another good choice for a poster representing Black History month. Samuel Adair became a minister in 1816 at Oberlin College (a leading anti-slavery school) in Ohio and he and his family moved to Kansas in 1854 eventually settling in Osawatomie where their cabin served as a headquarters of the Underground Railroad. Their cabin was the only free state home spared in the burning of Osawatomie and is now the is now the John Brown Museum, State Historic Site. There is a wide variety of content available online relating to the Adair Family as well including photographs, letters, sermons, manuscripts and such so I thought this might be a good pick for a Black History Month poster as well. (from 360Wichita.com)

The Calvary Baptist Church (pictured here as it is today) in Wichita, KS might be another good subject for a poster relating to Black History Month. In 1917, Old Calvary Baptist Church was built in the heart of the African American community in Wichita, Kansas. In 1972, when the congregation moved to a new building, Doris Kerr Larkins made a stand and decided to save the church, along with her sisters and the community. In 1974, the stand formulated the First National Black Historical Society and in 1993, it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places, thus becoming a 501 (c) 3 not-for-profit organization. The Society changed its name to The Kansas African American Museum, Inc. in 1999.

As for why they are interesting to me? Their NOT, I really don’t care about black history, but I thought those who do might find any of these three good content for a poster representing Black History. My 1-st choice would be Samuel Lyle Adair and family because that’s probably one that has had the most impact on actual Black History here in Kansas. Second I would choose Langston Hughes because I like writers, that’s just what I’m into, though the previous choice is simply a better subject. That leaves the Calvary Baptist Church in 3-rd place which I wouldn’t do at all unless forced too because it’s the least significant subject of these 3 to me.

SO… if I get to pick… I’ll do the Adair Family up there. Just let me know and I’ll whip something up…

As far as commenting on 3 others blog posts… All the links to other student blogs I see are from last semester… I haven’t been provided with any links to other’s blogs, so obviously, I can’t do that part at the moment. Kinda like trying to make a cake without flour, so, you know…

COMMENTS: Once the issue of the mystery student blog URL locations was solved, I commented the blog posts of:

Ashley: http://digitalmediacmst216.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/black-history-month/#comment-3

Jeff: http://jeffduckgrant.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/jeffs-black-history-month-assignment/

Kelly’s http://kmcarpenter.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/black-history-month-2/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 6, 2012 at 4:07 am

    Hey Brad,

    I think your first pick will be great! You are very good at interpreting things and you are good at writing. How will you visualize your poster? What color? Sounds interesting, good Luck!

  2. February 6, 2012 at 4:42 am

    I’m so glad you were able to give a little background on all three of your choices. They were all diverse topics and people that represent parts of black history, even though it is not in you interest area of history.

  3. February 21, 2012 at 12:20 am

    I like the three choices you decided on. Ummm…I know by prior designs of yours you can come-up with neat images, so I really cant give you any advise other than keep being yourself!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

